Bill Monroe

Today we mark the 100th birthday of music giant Bill Monroe, who did so much to show us the beauty of the form of original American music called bluegrass. Here’s one of his signature songs, Blue Moon of Kentucky:

Back in the 80s, when I was working at two different radio stations, my late-night gig was rock `n’ roll, blues, soul, reggae, and new wave. But on Sunday evenings, I had a program called “Chicken Lips” where I got to play bluegrass, folk, and acoustic blues. I thank my friend Don Starwalt for turning me on to this music when we were in school in the mid-70s. Life’s been richer ever since.

Oh, and check NPR’s web page on Bill Monroe, including the piece they ran yesterday – NPR on Monroe

Later,

Leave a Reply

